Dr. Feelgood – All Through The City (with Wilko 1974-1977) (2012)

Dr. Feelgood - All Through The City (with Wilko 1974-1977) (2012)

Dr. Feelgood – All Through The City (with Wilko 1974-1977) (2012)
January 2, 2013 | MP3 320 kbps | 536 MB
Genre: box-set, rock’n’roll

Hard work was hardwired into Dr. Feelgood‘s DNA. They never left the road, not even after the death of their lead singer Lee Brilleaux in 1994.
Nearly two decades after his demise, a lineup of Dr. Feelgood containing no original members continues to grind out gigs across the United Kingdom, a testament to the band’s take-no-prisoners aesth- etic, even if their presence tends to obscure what made the Feelgoods so special in the mid-’70s.
It took Julien Temple’s 2009 documentary Oil City Confidential to remind the world at large about Dr. Feelgood’s crucial place in history, how they turned pub rock into something tougher, harder, leaner, and meaner, something that paved the way for punk rock just a few years later. Oil City Confidential told the story, but it’s All Through the City (With Wilko 1974-1977) that provides the supporting evidence. A four-CD box chronicling everything that the original lineup of Brilleaux, guitarist Wilko Johnson, bassist John B. Sparks, and drummer John “The Big Figure” Martin recorded during their four years together, All Through the City contains all…

…the vital music Dr. Feelgood ever recorded. They’d make other good records — 1978?s Private Practice and its hit single “Milk & Alcohol,” for instance — but this is the music that made the band’s legacy, and it still packs a wallop: this is intense, gritty, hard rock & roll, its love of old R&B tying it somewhat to the past but the vicious vigor of the performances still feeling modern. This lacerating energy is best felt on the live performances — their hit album Stupidity and the television performances collected on the DVD — but their first two LPs, Down by the Jetty and Malpractice contain much of the same nervy spirit, conveyed by Wilko’s slashing cubist guitar and Brilleaux’s growl. On the welcome disc of rarities that concludes this set, some of the thought behind the band’s evolution is evident — an early version of “Roxette” betrays some deep doo wop roots that the group defiantly shook off just a year later — but that only strengthens the case for Dr. Feelgood. They knew precisely how to trim away the fat, they knew what mattered: the hard angular riffs, the throttling rhythms, the sense of malicious malevolence that pervades even the love songs. All of that is showcased on All Through the City, a box set that captures Dr. Feelgood in all of their rage and glory.

1. She Does It Right [03:23]
2. Boom Boom [02:43]
3. The More I Give [03:25]
4. Roxette [02:56]
5. One Weekend [02:16]
6. That Ain’t the Way to Behave [03:59]
7. I Don’t Mind [02:37]
8. Twenty Yards Behind [02:11]
9. Keep It Out of Sight [03:01]
10. All Through the City [03:07]
11. Cheque Book [04:06]
12. Oyeh! [02:30]
13. Bonie Moronie/Tequila [04:50]
14. I Can Tell [02:43]
15. Going Back Home [03:59]
16. Back in the Night [03:16]
17. Another Man [02:53]
18. Rolling and Tumbling [03:10]
19. Don’t Let Your Daddy Know [02:55]
20. Watch Your Step [03:21]
21. Don’t You Just Know It [03:50]
22. Riot in Cell Block Number Nine [03:38]
23. Because You’re Mine [04:52]
24. You Shouldn’t Call the Doctor (If You Can’t Afford the Bills) [02:33]
25. I’m Talking About You (Live) [01:57]
26. Twenty Yards Behind (Live) [02:04]
27. Stupidity (Live) [02:18]
28. All Through the City (Live) [02:52]
29. I’m a Man (Live) [05:09]
30. Walking the Dog (Live) [02:56]
31. She Does It Right (Live) [03:03]
32. Going Back Home (Live) [03:45]
33. I Don’t Mind (Live) [02:12]
34. Back in the Night (Live) [03:07]
35. I’m a Hog for You Baby (Live) [03:15]
36. Checkin’ Up On My Baby (Live) [03:15]
37. Roxette (Live) [03:02]
38. Sneakin’ Suspicion [03:52]
39. Paradise [04:04]
40. Nothin’ Shakin’ (But the Leaves On the Trees) [03:27]
41. Time and the Devil [02:59]
42. Lights Out [01:53]
43. Lucky Seven [02:46]
44. All My Love [03:47]
45. You’ll Be Mine [03:18]
46. Walking On the Edge [03:39]
47. Hey Mama Keep Your Big Mouth Shut [03:55]
48. Dr. Feelgood [02:21]
49. Everybody’s Carrying a Gun (Olympic Version) [02:25]
50. I’m a Hog for You Baby (Olympic Version) [03:08]
51. Time and the Devil [02:47]
52. Lights Out [01:47]
53. Everybody’s Carrying a Gun (Rockfield Version) [08:28]
54. Sneakin’ Suspicion (Demo) [03:42]
55. Malamut [04:32]
56. Casting My Spell On You [02:28]
57. Comin’ Home Baby [02:23]
58. I’m Talking About You [02:02]
59. My Girl Josephine [02:07]
60. Small Gains Corner [02:51]
61. (Get Your Kicks On) Route 66 [03:21]
62. I’m a Hog for You Baby [03:04]
63. Stupidity [02:02]
64. She Said Alright [03:38]
65. All Through the City (Live) [03:02]
66. Roxette (Live) [02:21]
67. Boom Boom (Live) [02:40]
68. Keep It Out of Sight (Live) [02:56]
69. Riot in Cell Block No. 9 [03:46]
70. Johnny B Goode [03:58]







Categories: Box Set, Rock

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>